Cutlery Drawer Organization

Is it just me or are cutlery trays an incredibly inefficient use of space?

The idea is great in theory – who doesn’t want all their different utensils separated by dividers?  The problem I’m finding is that they allot way more space for the separate items than what is actually needed.  With my old cutlery tray, I had about 4 inches of extra space with my forks, spoons and knifes and not to mention that the tray didn’t fill the entire drawer so there was extra space on the side and bottom too.

theelmlife_organization_cutlerydrawer_before

Cutlery Drawer Before

I’m sure there are wonderful cutlery trays out there but I don’t have the time to source one out that will potentially cost way more than I want to spend.My solution?  Dollar store baskets.

theelmlife_organization_cutlerydrawer_after

Cutlery Drawer After

I found these in the organizing section 3 for $1.00.  Price was certainly right so I made them a home in one of the higher traffic areas of my kitchen.  In addition to the cutlery that was in the old tray, I was also able to fit in an extra 16 dessert forks, 16 teaspoons and 14 steak knives.  Sounds like a more efficient use of space to me!

Like this kitchen organization project?  Here are some others you may enjoy!

1. Command centre

theelmlife_kitchencommandcentre_after

2. Coffee station

theelmlife_organization_coffeecart3

3. Open shelves

KitchenOpenShelvingOrganization

2. Command centre